Skip to content

Musings on My Roaring Mid-Fifties: Wine and Diet Pepsi

October 11, 2016

IMG_2354Class of 1980. I am now 55. If I live to be 110, I am currently middle aged. I am past middle age.

Here some of the ups and downs (downs and ups) I have discovered from this season of life.

1) Down: What of my hair is not turning gray is jumping ship.
Up: I really don’t care very much.

What makes us who we are is far deeper than appearance. That being said, I wish I appeared to have more hair.

2) Up: My proverbial skin is thicker.
Down: My literal skin has stuff that has to be burned off it each year.

It is a good thing 264 days a year to not be worrying about criticism. The dermatologist blow torch to the epidermis day on the 365th is rough.

3) Up: I am established.
Down: I must not become establishment.

The second you lose the fire in your belly is the second your best days are behind you. You have to stay hungry!

4) Down: I have lost a step…or two.
Up: You see a lot of things you used to miss when you lose a step or two.

You can’t smell the roses at a 24/7/365 all-out sprint. And not only that, you get more efficient and smarter to compensate.

5) Down: The demands upon my time are immense.
Up: Since I can’t do everything and can’t be everywhere, more great people have come along side of me.

I am mortal. It is inconvenient. One is too limited a number to accomplish very much at all. How we spend our time and on whom we invest our time are the most important decisions of this season.

6) Down: There have been disappointments.
Up: Disappointment has made me keenly appreciative of what I do have.

When you realize you deserve nothing, you begin to appreciate everything! Thanksgiving is the antidote to entitlement.

7) Down: I recognize my mortality.
Up: I have tapped into a humaneness that guides every aspect of my life.

Realizing we don’t have all the time in the world, makes finishing well an ever more important goal. People with less money, must invest more wisely; it works the same with time.

8) Up: Wine improves with age.
Down: Diet Pepsi does not.

This is really a pretty good stretch of highway. There is actually a symmetry to it. For example, the second you begin to look older, your eyesight begins to dim.

Keep smiling.
Keep loving.
Keep growing.
Keep faith alive.

-Rev. Shane L. Bishop is the Sr. Pastor of Christ Church in Fairview Heights, Illinois.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

