Skip to content

What Kind of Christian am I?

November 14, 2015

So much is said about Christians and so much is said by Christians these days.  I often read something tweeted or posted by a “Christian” and I think, “I am not that kind of Christian.”  So the other night I spent some time musing the kind of Christian I actually am. Here is what I came up with:

I am the kind of Christian whose faith has not rendered me angry, uptight, paranoid or humorless.
I am the kind of Christian who chooses to be known by what I am for, much more so than by what I am against.

I am the kind of Christian who does not believe I am any better than anyone else.
I am the kind of Christian who honestly believes that Christ is the answer to the questions of forgiveness, purpose and community.
I am the kind of Christian who believes I am saved because God is good all the time and not because I am good some of the time.
I am the kind of Christian who is much more offended by the sin in me than the sin in others.
I am the kind of Christian who believes the Gospel is actually really, really Good News.
I am the kind of Christian who believes Jesus is the way, the truth and the life.
I am the kind of Christian who does not believe the sins I am least dispositioned to commit are the worst sins of all.
I am the kind of Christian who seeks to be an objective, empathetic person of conscience and is not too proud to admit that I find it most difficult at times.
I am the kind of Christian who believes unconditional love does not require unconditional approval.
I am the kind of Christian who places greater hope in God’s grip on me than my grip on God.
I am the kind of Christian who is flawed, imperfect, fallen and…forgiven.

-Rev. Shane L. Bishop is the Sr. Pastor of Christ Church in Fairview Heights, Illinois

  

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

