Skip to content

Shade in the Shadow (of death)

August 1, 2015

Shade in the Shadow (of death)

This afternoon I was a parish pastor. Nothing more. Nothing less. I sat with a friend who (apart from a miracle) will die soon and his wife. She and I talked. She cried and I cried. He could not talk. He could not cry. He just breathed. There was no leftover energy for talking or crying. Breathing took everything he had.

As I listened to him breathe in an extended moment of silence, I thought about the impact he has made upon my life. It was significant. She told me of the impact I made upon him. It was significant as well. The moment was somehow holy and thoroughly good. The valley of the shadow of death is funny that way. Shadow sometimes serves as shade…and in that shade we rested and remembered and gave thanks.

I love to preach and lead at the scale God has granted to me but there are times…sacred times…when just being a parish minster is a wonderful thing.

Today was such a time.

-Rev. Shane L. Bishop has been the Senior Pastor of Christ Church in Fairview Heights, Illinois since 1997.

Shane Mars Hill

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

