Skip to content

Should You MAKE Students Go to Church?

March 9, 2015

Here is the BIG question for Christian parents of Tweens and Teens…

Rev. Shane L. Bishop

Should You MAKE Students Go to Church? 

 I love teaching our annual Confirmation Class at Christ Church.  We call it Next Step (sounds cooler) but it is a Confirmation Class.  Most of the students are Jr. High(ish) with a few younger and a few older.  I hold the first and final sessions with parents or sponsors attending and I am often asked this question, “Should I make my students go to church?”   I cannot tell you how many times I have been asked this question over my thirty years in ministry.

The rest of the conversation goes like this:

Me: “Why do you ask?”

Them: “My child is not a baby anymore and really doesn’t always want to attend with us.  I am afraid if I make him/her go against their will as a twelve year old, I will burn them out on Christianity when they are older and they won’t want…

View original post 272 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

