Skip to content

You Can’t Quit! (You Were Drafted)

November 15, 2014

Rev. Shane L. Bishop

Image

I am often asked how a history teacher and coach raised by Bap-ta-costal Jesus People became an Ordained Elder in the United Methodist Church.  My first response is that I have ruled out good luck but upon more serious reflection (there is no less serious reflection) I was simply…called.  About this time in 1987 I was on a bus headed to the No Greater Love Ministries Mardi Gras Outreach.  We were somewhere between the arch and the French Quarter when a voice inside my head simply said, “Go to seminary.”  That was it.  No hints about which seminary, what I was to do with a seminary degree or what might be involved; just a clear sense that God wanted something of me for which I needed more training and seasoning.  These were the days before cell phones and when the next pit stop offered me the opportunity, I called Melissa…

View original post 177 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

