Skip to content

Vietnam and the Marlboro Man (On Veteran’s Day)

November 11, 2014

Here is the reflection of this parish pastor on Veteran’s Day…

Rev. Shane L. Bishop

 

Vietnam and the Marlboro Man

(Collinsville, Illinois circa 2013)

 

I officiated at a funeral today.  I did not know this family but they had visited Christ Church a couple of times.  The deceased was a Vietnam veteran who had his life stolen by cancer far too soon.  The funeral home was packed like a church on Easter and as many people came to the committal service at the cemetery as I have ever seen.  After the proceedings were completed, we traveled to a local cemetery for the committal.  My role was a prayer, “dust to dust” and a blessing, then I turned things over to the Marines for full military honors.  I love this service and despite the hundred or so times I have seen it, it still moves me in very profound ways.  Upon completion of my blessing, I stepped aside and the soldiers took over.  I…

View original post 314 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

