Skip to content
Tags

Peace (In the Storm)

August 14, 2014

I was glancing over Facebook posts before bed tonight. Some are mourning, some are crying out for justice, some are lamenting world events and some are contemplating local events just over the Mississippi River. Each offer evidence to the razor thin line separates order from chaos in our troubled existence. For many it seems the end of the world.

Conversely, others are focused on baseball, getting back to school, late summer vacations, shedding a few pounds, sharing a new recipe, extolling a new restaurant, the upcoming football season, trying to grow as a person. pleasant weather and relational drama. Always relational drama. For them it seems like just another day but it is not just another day.

Today my burden is heavy. I don’t just wonder how to lead when I feel all the pain but have no idea how to help, I wonder how I am going to sleep. The writer of Ecclesiastes reminds us that in ALL times and in ALL seasons God is still God. And with that realization, I lay my troubled mind on my pillow and pray for the Kingdom to come and come quickly, for justice to prevail, for love to defeat hate and for peace to swallow violence whole. And somehow I pray, somehow, God might use my quivering voice to speak to a troubled sea and say, “Peace, be still.” And if peace does not come to the sea, may it come to me…and to you my friends.

-Rev. Shane L. Bishop is the Sr. Pastor of Christ Church in Fairview Heights, Illinois

Shane Preaching

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

