Skip to content

Rev. Shane’s Smoky Mountain Revival Show

June 20, 2014

 Rev. Shane’s Smoky Mountain Revival Show

On our trip to the Smokies this week, I was joking about what I wanted to do when I retired. I told the family I was going to move to the mountains and open “Rev. Shane’s Smoky Mountain Revival” in one of the defunct dinner theater venues and treat the audience to some fantastic mountain Gospel music, a popping sermon and close with an old fashioned pot-luck featuring recipes from various mountain church cookbooks I found at yard sales. They all hated the idea (especially Miss Melissa who I had pegged as purveyor of old timey music and chief cook). I was still feeling some energy from my idea until our Tuesday afternoon BBQ run into Townsend.

Across from us was a real mountain preacher who had apparently invited a prospective young couple to supper to discuss the finer points of faith. He caught my attention when he began to speak loudly of an upcoming fiery apocalypse in which God would cleanse humanity of sin and used the illustration of a blazing mountain on fire to illustrate his point. He was getting at it pretty good and had enough heat going that the ice in my Sweet Tea was melting rapidly.

When he finished, it occurred to me that “Rev. Shane’s Smoky Mountain Revival” might need some fine tuning on the sermon end before we open. My material now seemed a bit…tepid.

Image

-Rev. Shane L. Bishop is the Senior Pastor of Christ Church in Fairview Heights, Illinois.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

