Skip to content

TGIF (Everday)

June 10, 2014

TGIF (Everyday)

Fridays are my day off.  The perfect Friday involves getting some morning sleep, not too much yard work, a cheap lunch with Melissa and gassing up the cars for the next week.  It is usually midafternoon before I can make it to Huck’s for gas; since I always want something inside the store (and don’t pay at the pump), I am always in a long line of construction workers who decided to start their weekend a few hours early.  I call them TGIF (Thank God It’s Friday) people.  They celebrate their completed work week with the purchase of a couple of packs of cigarettes, a twenty-four pack of beer and a handful of lottery tickets.  On a given Friday, there may be seven people in my line and all are getting the exact same stuff (except for me who is holding a Diet Pepsi).  When I look into the faces of my fellow line mates (and I have plenty of time to do this), there is no joy in them.  There is no real satisfaction in the cigarettes, no great enthusiasm about the beer and no real hope about winning the lottery.  It is simply Friday and that is what they do.  It seems to me that life is awfully short for a TGIF existence.  I want to accomplish more in this world than grinding through another week with the hopes of drinking a few beers on the weekend.  I want to really live.  Perhaps that is what Jesus was talking about when He said that He came to bring us life abundantly…everyday and not just on Fridays.

-Rev. Shane L. Bishop is the Sr. Pastor of Christ Church in Fairview Heights, Illinois

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

