Skip to content

So you think people are just numbers (in a mega-church)?

May 19, 2014

So you think people are just numbers in a mega-church?

Today I was informed that a beloved family of this church will be leaving us. Not because they are moving but because they have lost a connection here and feel called to another congregation. I picked up the phone and called because I had some things I wanted to say. I wanted them to know what an honor it has been to speak into their lives over these years and how grateful I am for their service here. I wanted to offer my blessing as they go, let them know they will be missed and let them know they need not hide if they ever run into me at a restaurant. I also offered to call their new pastor to say what an incredible family they are getting if that would ever be of help. I was thanked for calling and so glad that I did so. When I hung up, I wiped the tears from my eyes, took a short walk to compose myself and went back to work. That is what I do, I go back to work.

So you think people are just numbers in a mega-church? They are not to this pastor…

-Rev. Shane L. Bishop, a Distinguished Evangelist of the United Methodist Church, has been the Sr. Pastor of Christ Church in Fairview Heights, Illinois since 1997.  The church has grown from 200 to over 2,100 in those years.

Image

2 Comments
  1. Ken Dean permalink

    Way to go Shane!!

Leave a Reply

