Skip to content

The Gifted One (For Grandparents)

December 7, 2013

Image

Here is an excerpt from the new book “Re:member.”  And you thought YOUR grandchild was gifted?!?

The Gifted One

(Fairview Heights, Illinois circa 2013)

There are few things I enjoy more than hanging out with my son Zec.  Zec and I have played about 75 softball games together each year for 10 years and I thoroughly enjoy his company.  He comes from a long line of storytellers and is utterly entertaining once you get him going.  Melissa and I have discovered that your adult children make awesome friends!  (We have so much in common!)  On this day we were discussing the short-term future of my two-year-old grandson Elijah Christian Bishop’s future education who was incidentally, present for the meeting.  I call Elijah the “Name Bearer” since he will be the oldest grandchild to carry the Bishop family name into the future.  I consider this a sacred responsibility; for what is of greater value to a family than your name?  I call Elijah “Lijjie-Man” and probably will for the rest of my natural life.  It just fits.  I will approach him and say, “Are you the Lijjie-Man?”  He always replies, “Yyyyeeeeeeegggghhhhh…”

It was springtime after a softball game and the three of us were hanging out at Zec’s place when I asked Zec if the Lijjie Man was going to be enrolled in preschool in the fall.  I knew he was not yet potty trained (Elijah that is) because the week before he had called me to say he didn’t go pee pee in his diaper!”  When I asked if he went in the big boy potty, he said in double time, “No, the fireplace.”  My question was not even out of my mouth when Zec quickly replied, “No, he is not going to preschool, he doesn’t need it.  He is gifted.”  All I could think about was the fireplace.  Zec then turned to Elijah who was sucking on a rock and said, “Elijah, count for Papa.”  Eli looked at me and said, “One, two, eight, ocho.”  Zec didn’t even look up, “Multilingual.  Gifted.”

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

