Skip to content

A Slice of Life from “Re:member”

December 6, 2013

Image

One of the features of my books is the “Slice of Life.” It is just a reflection on life that I hope connects others to the joys and humor in their own lives. Here is a slice from my new book “Re:member.”

It centers around the fact that what of my hair is not jumping ship is turning white.

Slice of Life

When I was young, I had freckles. This seemed acceptable because I never had acne and was completely positive that I would never go bald. I remember watching with horror as some of my high school and college friends began to lose their hair and seeing their father’s hairless craniums left little doubt as to why. I felt sorry for these mates because my dad was blessed (and is still blessed) with a great head of hair and I was certain that this fine trait had been passed to me. It all started about five years ago when I thought the top rear region of my cranium was flattening. When I felt my head, there was a flat spot and I could not imagine what was happening. Was my head going flat? Was I jamming my head against the headboard as I slept? Did my grandpa’s have a flat head? What was happening is that my hair was beginning to thin and now things are ever so slowly getting out of hand. When I watch videos of me preaching from year to year, it is incontestable that I am losing hair density at an alarming rate. Earlier this week I happened to pass a mirror. For some reason I noticed a single hair in the thinning back region that was shooting straight out and about an inch longer than the competition. Instinctively, I reached up to pluck it and then it hit me. What kind of failing business owner punishes his only high performing salesman? I went into my bathroom, found some scissors and carefully trimmed the hair to the length of the rest. I even put some gel on it. I hope the others are inspired

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

