Skip to content

Re:member Excerpt #1

October 28, 2013

A Slice of Life 

I am a part of the first generation of large church preachers to have amassed a huge amount of material on the internet.  Every message I have preached for the last several years is posted on our website, iTunes, Vimeo or some other free and easily accessible platform.  Tonight it occurred to me that long after I die, there will still be thousands of my sermons alive and well in cyberspace.  My great, great, great, great grandchildren will be able to type in “Rev. Shane Bishop” in an internet search and see everything I ever did professionally.  Even as I write, I am imagining my five-year-old great, great, great grandson Elroy (wasn’t that the kid’s name on the Jetsons?) Shane (I am still hoping for a namesake) Bishop mercilessly teasing his little sister until she begins to scream at the top of her lungs in exasperation.  His annoyed mother says from the kitchen, “Elroy, if you don’t leave your sister alone you will have to watch one of your grandfather Shane’s sermons on the internet.”  “Aw mom,” Elroy replies, “The whole stupid thing?”  “Yes,” his mother replies, “Every second of it…and take notes.”  Faced with this unattractive and time-consuming prospect, Elroy gets a grip on himself, apologizes to his sister and mother and is a particularly good boy through the month of September and most of October.  Yes, it’s good to know my sermons will still be impacting lives long after I am gone!

Maddox

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

