Skip to content

Not Letting Stress Send you to Heaven (Prematurely)

August 1, 2013

Rev. Shane L. Bishop

Simmering the Stress (of church leadership)

Some years ago (when I was still “young-ish”) my health was in a rapidly declining state.  Christ Church was moving from 400 in worship each weekend toward 750 and it was literally killing me.  Our staff was a mess, the congregation was in flux and I was doing the hard work of re-defining our church culture (without really having any idea what I was doing).  I was packing on the weight (the sweet tea, Q and Stew Diet), my blood pressure was soaring and I could suddenly snore the paint off the wall (I awakened each morning and all the paint was on the floor).  In addition, I developed a persistent cough and there were involuntary physical “ticks” being displayed early and often.  Perfect.  After a medical analysis, it was found that stress was the culprit.  My doctor told me that I either needed…

View original post 552 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

