Skip to content

To Judge or Not to Judge…(but not on judgement at all as it turns out)

December 12, 2012

::Lydia Speaking::

Have you ever heard the phrase, “Doing the wrong thing for the right reason”? Well here’s a little lesson I learned the tough way last week-

I used to be rather judgmental in my younger days. Maybe being 17 and being catty go hand in hand, but looking back- it makes me hurt to think I once thought I had the right to judge anyone, or anything. I always say being judgmental either means you are lacking self-confidence, or you are utterly bitter and mean. Frankly, I was both.

When I whole-heartedly gave my life to Christ, I was 22. I’ve always been a “Christian” but never really knew what it meant to be a true follower of Christ.  I think so many times, we go through the motions of God while we are still going through the motions ourselves. We are living-it-up, come to a crossroads, accept Christ, then a lot of the time still live how we want to. We then visit our “Christianity” only on  Sunday mornings between the hours of 8am-12pm, to make us ‘feel better’. Well, sorry if you had to hear this from me, but God didn’t send His only Son to be brutally tortured, then hung alive from a cross with thick nails driven into his flesh, breaking tendons, separating bone, bursting veins, then ripping down his skin– for the sins He did not commit– to make “us feel better“. God sent His Son to die for the sins that we have hidden in our hearts and on our hands, so we wont be tortured and burn in hell. Blunt, sure. But candy-coated doesn’t always get the message across effectively. I’m not the “everyone gets a trophy” kind of gal.

What people don’t understand, and what it took me 3,388 times going to church to understand-and I am still learning- is that we die when we truly accept Christ. That doesn’t mean we just stop doing some of the bad things we used to do. When we accept Christ, that person you were 2 minutes before you said that prayer should be dead. Matthew 10:38-39 says that 38 “Whoever does not take up their cross and follow Me is not worthy of Me. 39 Whoever finds their life [in Christ] will lose it, and whoever loses their life for My sake will find it.”

How about we start trusting God? It’s hard and it’s the biggest thing that I struggle with in my heart every single second, of every single day. But when you give your life to Christ, He’s saying to you “Be true to Me. Follow Me. Love me with ALL of your being in every single way. I know it’s hard. I know that people might think differently of you or not believe you because of the person you used to be, but that is why I came. I love you, and if you follow Me, if you trust me enough to give your life to me, I will make a life for you that you never dreamed of. That doesn’t mean it won’t be tough at times, but that means that in those valleys, I want you to seek Me and draw close to Me and My word.  And on those mountain tops, praise My name. If you die to yourself and follow me, I will lead you. I will be the lamp unto your feet and the light unto your path.”

So, moral of the story, this blog has nothing to do with what I started writing about. I went off onto a different direction, but obviously that might have been for a reason. I am in the middle of a 25 page paper and why would I have the urge to stop at 1:20am and spend 25 minutes writing a blog post when my kids will be up in a few hours and I have a huge presentation at 8:30? So maybe I will shoot out the judgement blog some other time, but I hope what God laid on my heart for some reason tonight,  speaks to you in some way. Reading it back, I think God spoke to me on a word I’ve been desperate to hear for a long time. The way He answers prayers come in the strangest ways, and the one on my heart for so long, was just answered. Thank you God, for working through me as I was writing to others. The Lord giveth, and the Lord taketh away,  but always… Blessed be the name of the Lord.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

