Skip to content

“Exactly as I Remember It” Excerpt

November 6, 2012

Persistence in Prayer

(Pinckneyville, Illinois, circa 1971)

 

As a child, I felt persistence was the single most important thing about prayer.  When I prayed I was not double minded; my request (I mean petition) was clear and unambiguous.  In the summer of 1971, Reaban’s Restaurant (a sticky seated hamburger joint that reeked of grease and cigarette smoke) held a drawing for a free bicycle.  She was a beauty!  Somehow my nine year old brain became convinced God was going to give me that bicycle.  After all, God made dad be a preacher and had afflicted me with both freckles and abnormally large teeth.  God owed me that bike.  I prayed every day for that bike and then one day we went into Reaban’s and…the bike was gone.  Somebody had won it; probably some kid all the girls liked whose dad didn’t have to be a preacher.  I learned that day that no matter how much you pray, if you want a bicycle you are probably going to have to work for it and that if God ever called me to be a preacher, I wasn’t going to be of the “name it, claim it” kind.

 

 

 

About the Author

Named a Distinguished Evangelist of the United Methodist Church, Shane L. Bishop is the Senior Pastor of Christ Church in Fairview Heights, Illinois.  He resides in Belleville, Illinois with his wife Melissa.

Image

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

